Editor Jen DePiero wins Al Neuharth Free Spirit Award

The Lancer Spirit current editor-in-chief jumps to the top of a tall list of Londonderry High School journalism awards.

As one of only 102  students in the United States Jen will receive a minimum of a $1,000 scholarship she will also attend the Free Spirit Awards ceremony and conference at the Newseum on Wednesday March 18th.  One female and one male are selected from each state through a competitive process.  At the event the organization will announce two $10,000 scholarships for these student journalists.

“The Free Spirit Conference is an educational opportunity for all of us,” said Charles L. Overby, chief executive officer of the Freedom Forum, Newseum and Diversity Institute. “These bright scholars get learning opportunities with top media professionals, and their drive and enthusiasm inspire us in turn.”

Londonderry High School Al Neuharth Free Spirit Award Winers

  • Jen DePiero, editor-in-chief, won for the girls in 2010
  • Eoghan Kelly, editor-in-chief, won for the boys in 2009
  • Ryan Rivard, Arts and Entertainment editor, won for the boys in 2008
  • Katie Lannan, the editor-in-chief, won the for the girls in 2008

Londonderry High School Principal Jason Parent said, “This is great news for LHS and the Lancer Spirit Program, which for the third year in a row, has had its Editor-In-Chief win the Al Neuharth Free Spirit Award. ”

The adviser for the Londonderry High School Lancer Spirit newspaper is Mary DeWinkeleer, who was an award recipient in 2008  Nackey Loeb First Amendment Award.

More information on the NEWSEUM, a interactive museum in Washington D.C. is available on their website.